Sea turtles go the distance

Since I started marathon training, I would occasionally have the same random dream. In my dream, there is a gigantic sea turtle beautifully shaded in bright green that spans the entire left side of my torsos. No lie—from my armpit to above my hip bone. I would usually wake up in a panic, immediately look down, say “phew” and go back to sleep. (For those who know me, I am afraid of needles and hence have stopped getting the flu shot after I passed out during one particularly traumatizing experience.)

I did some digging after the third repeat dream. Turns out sea turtles are pretty awesome creatures. Some sources stated that sea turtles can be associated with wisdom, endurance, determination and strength. Sea turtles are definitely “marathoners” of the water. One reputable nature site stated that they could travel as far as 1,400 miles! Talk about a journey! I wonder if there are any Gatorade stands during that trek. 😉

I would not necessarily associate sea turtles with being my favorite animal or even an animal that I am particularly interested in. My favorite animal tends to be a bit more cuddly.

Chartreuse! Purr-fect.

However, oddly it makes sense. As a teen, I swam competitively and was a lifeguard during the summer months. I took an impromptu trip to Hawaii a few years ago and started my mornings by swimming laps in the Pacific near Queen Kapi ‘Olani park with my friend’s roommate. More often than not, sea turtles would accompany our morning calisthenics. Clearly, these ancient and majestic creatures have been patiently waiting in the back drop of my life.

2011 Hawaii trip. Randomly found this beautiful mural of a sea turtle during a road trip down the Hilo side of the big island.

2011 Hawaii trip. Randomly found this beautiful mural of a sea turtle during a road trip down the Hilo side of the big island.

Nothing like starting your day with a swim. Beach near Queen Kapiolani Park.

Nothing like starting your day with a swim. Hawaii trip 2011.

 

And speaking of the Tortoise and the Hare, this past week has been another endurance week of running. My longest run—21 miles—was completed early Saturday morning.

Favorite part of the run--elevating tired legs. Super helpful! Just lay horizontal and put your feet up in the air. What a rush!

Favorite part of the run–elevating very tired legs. Super helpful! Just lay horizontal and put your feet up in the air. What a rush when you try to stand up. Be careful! No more than 10 minutes. =)

This was my last hard week of training before the Via Marathon! =) Just like the the sea turtles who are known for their endurance over great distances, I took a journey to prepare for this race. I learned that if you really want something, you have to commit to the goal and go after it. Thus far, I have logged ~600 miles and plan to tack at least another 65 before race day. One of the reasons that I love running is because it is incredibly honest. There are no short cuts to achieving results as your “race pace” speaks for itself. As I finish the last 3 weeks of training, I will continue to channel my inner sea turtle. Slow and steady (8 min miles) wins the race or at the very least qualifies one for the Boston Marathon. 😉

#Datenight. Gave up dinner plans at Rabia's. Commitment. These miles are not going to run themselves. =)

#Datenight. Gave up dinner plans at Rabia’s in the North End on Friday. Commitment. These miles are not going to run themselves. =)

 

Leave a comment